Weekday Discussions

ReadRS

Here I Am by Jonathan Safran Foer, discussion led by Rabbi Bill Kuhn
Open to all members and prospective members, ReadRS is an opportunity to connect with each other and share ideas through lively discussions of books over wine, cheese, and other nibbles.  Join in and help us select books of  interest you would like to read -- fiction or non-fiction, serious or humorous, controversial or not -- that not only provide "a good read" but also help us explore the meaning and experience of being Jewish, past or  present, in America and around the world. 

The W Connection

Helping Widows Rebuild Their Lives.
Susan Gross, RS member, former teacher and widow, leads discussions for members and their friends who are ready to rebuild and take control of their future.
For more information about The W Connection please go to www.wconnection.org.
If you are interested in coming to a group meeting, contact Catherine Fischer or Susan Gross ([email protected]).

The Israeli-Palestinian Conflict: A Conversation with Two Young Israelis

A Conversation About Settlements: Two Different Perspectives of Hope for Israel's Future
Rabbi Elik Goldberg is an Orthodox rabbi who supports the Israeli settlements in Judea and Samaria, where he lives and works as a tour guide.  Rabbi Goldberg is in Philadelphia as a Shaliach (cultural ambassador) of “Bnei Akiva,” a religious Zionist youth movement, in Greater Philadelphia.

Introduction to Judaism

With Rabbis Kuhn, Maderer & Freedman and Cantor Frankel
Wednesdays, January 13 – April 13, 2016, 6-8 pm

If you are an interfaith couple, if you are considering converting to Judaism, or if you are Jewish and looking for beginner’s education, “Introduction to Judaism” is perfect for you.  Registration is required. Please contact Catherine Fischer at [email protected]

Cost: URJ synagogue members: $180 per person or per couple, non members $275 per person or per couple.

ReadRS

The Adventures of Kavalier & Clay by Michael Chabon, which David Mandell will lead.  

Open to all members and prospective members, ReadRS is an opportunity to connect with each other and share ideas through lively discussions of books over wine, cheese, and other nibbles.  Join in and help us select books of  interest you would like to read -- fiction or non-fiction, serious or humorous, controversial or not -- that not only provide "a good read" but also help us explore the meaning and experience of being Jewish, past or  present, in America and around the world.  

Introduction to Mussar

Together, we will explore a series of middot, meaning, character virtues.  For each virtue, such as humility, patience and gratitude, we will study wisdom from Jewish tradition and we will engage in a daily spiritual practice that involves paying attention to our own actions and understanding hindrances to the virtue.  Then we will challenge ourselves to reach higher in each particular virtue.

ReadRS

Open to all members and prospective members, ReadRS is an opportunity to connect with each other and share ideas through lively discussions of books over wine, cheese, and other nibbles.  Join in and help us select books of  interest you would like to read -- fiction or non-fiction, serious or humorous, controversial or not -- that not only provide "a good read" but also help us explore the meaning and experience of being Jewish, past or present, in America and around the world. 

ReadRS

Zealot: The Life and Times of Jesus of Nazareth by Reza Aslan, Discussion led by Rabbi Eli Freedman

In what the Los Angeles Times describes as a “page-turner,”  Aslan paints a “vivid, accessible portrait of Jesus as a Jewishnationalist, a zealous revolutionary swept up, as all Jews of the era were, in the religious and political turmoil of first-century Palestine.”  Tablet Magazine.  Rabbi Freedman, who wrote his rabbinic thesis on this period of Jewish history, will provide an insider’s viewpoint on this lively controversial book.

ReadRS

The Mapmaker’s Daughter, by Laurel Corona.  Discussion leader, Linda Karp  

Open to all members and prospective members, ReadRS is an opportunity to connect with each other and share ideas through lively discussions of books over wine, cheese, and other nibbles.  Join in and help us select books of  interest you would like to read -- fiction or non-fiction, serious or humorous, controversial or not -- that not only provide "a good read" but also help us explore the meaning and experience of being Jewish, past or  present, in America and around the world.  

Modern Approach To Bible Study with Mother Bethel Church

Please join the Diversity Group in the discussion "Modern Approach To Bible Study"
with Mother Bethel Church

Rev. W. Lynette Taylor will be leading us in a look at Amos, The Prophet, and connecting  Amos’s( writings) scriptures   to film clips from the movie “Beloved”.  This will be an exciting evening and all adults are welcome to join.
 March 10 ,  7-8pm
at Mother Bethel Church
19 S 6th St, Philadelphia, PA 19147
(215) 925-0616. [email protected]

ReadRS: Book Group

Henna House author, Nomi Eve, will discuss her book.

An evocative and stirring novel about a young woman living in the fascinating and rarely portrayed community of Yemenite Jews of the mid-twentieth century, from the acclaimed author of The Family Orchard. In the tradition of Anita Diamant's The Red Tent, Henna House is the enthralling story of a woman, her family, their community, and the rituals that bind them.

Conversation About Race in America

Conversations About Race in America
In an effort to address the recent protests across the country surrounding the issues of race in America, we are offering a number of opportunities to begin a conversation in our community and beyond.
Spit Back A Boy:
The Poetry of Iain Haley Pollock
Congregant and poet, Iain Haley Pollock, will read selected poems about his own experiences of race.  Through these poems, we will then have a chance to discuss issues of race in our own lives.

ReadRS: Book Group

ReadRS: The RS Book Group*
Wednesday, January 14 @ 6:30pm
A Guide for the Perplexed
by Dara Horn
Discussion led by Rabbi Bill Kuhn
Join us for lively discussions of books  that not only provide “a good read” but also will help us explore the meaning and experience of being Jewish - past, present, in America and around the world. If you like to read and share good books, ReadRS is for you.
Bring a snack or beverage to share.  ReadRS Chairs: Carole Wilder & Ben Zion Friedman

Character Virtues in Everday Life with Alan Morinis

Weekday Scholar: Alan Morinis
Wednesday, October 22 @ 7pm
“Character Virtues in Everyday Life”
“Pay attention to your thoughts, they become words; pay attention to your words, they become actions; pay attention to your actions, they become habits, pay attention to your habits, they become your character, pay attention to your character, it becomes your destiny” (author unknown).

ReadRS: Once We Were Brothers

9/3, Once We Were Brothers by Ronald H. Balson
Bring: People are invited to participate either by leading the discussion or bringing a snack or beverage to share.
RSVP: Catherine Fischer ([email protected]) Join us for lively discussions of books, including fiction and non-fiction, that will not only provide "a good read" but also will help us explore the meaning and experience of being Jewish - past, present, in America and around the world. If you like to read and share good books, ReadRS is for you.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Weekday Discussions