Dozens of American colleges and universities are rejecting an academic boycott of Israeli universities recently approved by the academic American Studies Association, the nation’s oldest and largest association devoted to the interdisciplinary study of American culture and history.

A letter from Rabbi Jeffrey Salkin: "Thank those universities that said "no thanks!" to the ASA resolution!"

When hatred goes viral, so should gratitude.

While the ASA was deciding to help put Israel into an academic ghetto, something was happening behind our backs – something by no means insidious, but, rather, redemptive.

The academic world did not stay silent. Quite the contrary. To date, twenty-five American universities have refused to join the ASA boycott. In many cases, they have also issued strongly worded protests against the Association’s actions.

Here are the names of the presidents or chancellors of each university, along with their contact information. Because it is not enough to scream gevalt when we have been wounded. We also have to scream “thank you” to those who are our friends, to those who stood up for truth, to those who have refused to have their educational institutions seduced by all too common siren song of anti-Israelism. We need to thank those institutions, especially if we are alumni of them, and/or our children or grandchildren attend them. .

This is the mitzvah of hakarat ha-tov – recognizing the good. Thank these university officials for their universities’ courage in standing up to the American Studies Association. Thank them for their commitment to truth and to intellectual honesty. Thank them for the generosity of spirit that they demonstrated towards the State of Israel.

  • Boston University. Dr. Robert A. Brown, President. John and Kathryn Silber Administrative Center, 1 Silber Way (8th Floor), Boston, MA. 02215. [email protected]
  • Brandeis University. Fred Laurence, President. Office of the President, Irving Enclave 113, MS 100, 415 South Street, Waltham, MA 02453
  • Brown University. Christina Paxson, President. Office of the President, Brown University, Box 1860, 1 Prospect Street, Providence, RI 02912
  • Cornell University. David J. Skorton, President. Office of the President, 300 Day Hall, Cornell University, Ithaca, NY 14853. [email protected]
  • Dickinson College. Nancy A. Roseman, President. Dickinson College, Post Office Box 1773 , Carlisle, PA 17013. [email protected]
  • Duke University. Richard A. Brodhead, President. Office of the President, Duke University, 207 Allen Building, Box 90001, Durham, NC 27708-0001. [email protected]
  • George Washington University. Steven Knapp, President. Rice Hall, 2121 I Street, NW, Suite 801, Washington, DC 20052
  • Harvard University. Dr. Drew Faust, President. Office of the President, Harvard University, Massachusetts Hall, Cambridge, MA 02138 [email protected]
  • Indiana University. Michael A. McRobbie, President. Office of the President, Indiana University, Bryan Hall 200, 107 S. Indiana Ave., Bloomington, IN 47405
  • Michigan State University. Lou Anna K. Simon, President. Office of the President, Michigan State University, 426 Auditorium Road, Hannah Administration Building, Room 450, East Lansing, MI 48824-1046. [email protected]
  • New York University. John Sexton, President. Office of the President, New York University, 70 Washington Square South, New York, NY 10012 [email protected]
  • Northwestern University. Morton Shapiro, President. 2-130 Rebecca Crown Center, 633 Clark Street, Evanston, Illinois 60208. [email protected]
  • Princeton University. Christopher L. Eisgruber, President. Office of the President, 1 Nassau Hall, Princeton University, Princeton, NJ 08544
  • Tulane University. Scott S. Cowen, President. Tulane University, 218 Gibson Hall, 6823 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70118-5684
  • University of California-Irvine. Michael V. Drake, MD, Chancellor. University of California, Irvine, Irvine, CA 92697 [email protected]
  • University of California-San Diego. Praddep K. Khosia, chancellor-elect. Office of the Chancellor, University of California, San Diego, 9500 Gilman Drive # 0005, La Jolla, California 92093-0005. [email protected]
  • University of Kansas. Bernadette Gray-Little, Chancellor. Chancellor's Office, University of Kansas, 230 Strong Hall, Lawrence, KS 66045-7518. [email protected]
  • University of Maryland. Wallace D. Loh, President. University of Maryland,
  • 1101 Main Administration Building, College Park, MD 20742-6105 [email protected]
  • University of Pennsylvania. Amy Gutmann, President. Office of the President,
  • University of Pennsylvania, 1 College Hall, Room 100, Philadelphia, PA 19104-6380. [email protected]
  • University of Pittsburgh. Mark Nordenberg, Chancellor. University of Pittsburgh , 107 Cathedral of Learning, Pittsburgh, PA 15260
  • University of Texas-Austin. William Powers, Jr., President. Office of the President, 110 Inner Campus Drive, Stop G3400, Austin, TX. 78712-3400
  • Washington University in St. Louis. Mark Stephen Wrighton, Chancellor. Campus Box 1192, One Brookings Drive , St. Louis, MO 63130 [email protected]
  • Wesleyan University. Michael S. Roth, President. 229 High Street, Middletown, CT. 06459. [email protected]
  • Willamette University. Stephen E. Thorsett, President. 900 State Street, Salem, Oregon 97301 [email protected]
  • Yale University. Peter Salovey, President. President's Office , Yale University PO Box 208229 , New Haven, CT 06520-8229 [email protected]

Rabbi Jeffrey K. Salkin